Home Page
Low Graphics Version
About UsHarbor CommissionFinanceTradeEnvironmentCommunityContact UsHow Do I Find...
Home > Environment > Community Grants Program > Advisory CommitteeE-mail storyPrint friendly format

Meet the Advisory Committee

Community Grants Advisory Committee January 2017

The Community Grants Advisory Committee provides input to Port staff on program guidelines, evaluation criteria, and outreach. The Committee also reviews grant proposals and advises Port staff on which applications should be funded.

Advisory Committee Meetings are open to the public and are held at the Port of Long Beach Interim Administrative Offices, 4801 Airport Plaza Drive, Long Beach, 90815. Agendas are available online at www.polb.com/webcast.

Irma Archuleta
In October 2016, Archuleta was appointed to the Los Angeles County Status of Women Commission, where she currently serves as a representative for District 1. Formerly, she represented Area II on the Long Beach City College Board. She has worked in higher education in both the California Community College and California State University systems, where she served in ascending administrative roles and taught political science and ethnic studies.

Joanne Davis
Davis is a developer of financial management programs for statewide campaigns and has been a member of the Board of Directors of the Long Beach Area Chamber of Commerce for six years. From 2011 to 2012, Davis led the Chamber as chairman. In 2010, Joanne, a small business owner in Long Beach, was named the Small Business Advocate of the Year by the California Chamber of Commerce.

Gary DeLong (chair)
DeLong is a former Long Beach City Councilman. He has been a small business owner for over 25 years and currently serves on many boards including the Aquarium of the Pacific, the Long Beach Chamber of Commerce, the Long Beach City College Foundation, the Long Beach Community Foundation, and the St. Mary Medical Center Foundation.

Kathleen Irvine
Irvine, a resident of Council District 1, has been a landscape designer, consultant, and teacher since 1991 and is an active member of the Long Beach community. She currently serves as President for the Willmore City Heritage Association and as Vice-Chair of the Sustainable City Commission. She has received many awards, including the Woman of Distinction Award from State Sen. Ricardo Lara, the Go Long Beach Award from Mayor Robert Garcia and the Spirit of Downtown Award from Downtown Long Beach Associates.

Sabrina Sanders
Sanders supports student academic programs at California State University Chancellor’s office. Recently recognized for her mentorship of young adults pursuing a career in higher education as one of the Long Beach Post’s “top 40 under 40,” she has served as President of the Hamilton Neighborhood Association, is a Commissioner on the Long Beach Community Investment Company board, and is a member of the North Long Beach Whole Village Initiative.

Photo caption: The Advisory Committee from left: Dr. Sabrina Sanders, Irma Archuleta, Kathleen Irvine, Gary DeLong (chair), Joanne Davis

About UsHarbor CommissionFinanceTradeEnvironmentCommunityContact UsHow Do I Find...
 Civica A Granicus Company